kernel news – 01.10.2012

Posted: October 1, 2012 in kernel
Tags:

-The 1st of October marks the release of kernel 3.6:

When I did the -rc7 announcement a week ago, I said I might have to do
an -rc8, but a week passed, and things have been calm, and I honestly
cannot see a major reason to do another rc.

So here it is, 3.6 final. Sure, I’d have been happier with even fewer
changes, but that just never happens. And holding off the release
until people get too bored to send me the small stuff just makes the
next merge window more painful.

The changes that got merged this week were generally pretty tiny, but
more importantly, they tend to be small or very unlikely/special
things. Famous last words.

The shortlog below is obviously just the log since -rc7, the changes
in 3.6 since 3.5 are too many to list. There haven’t been any huge new
architectures or filesystems, it’s all “solid progress”. That may not
sound all that exciting, but the devil is in the details, and there’s
a lot of small fixes all over.

Anyway, this obviously means that the merge window for 3.7 is open,
and on that subject I do want to note that I’m going to travel much of
this merge window. Let’s see how much that impacts my merging, but I
hope that it won’t be *that* noticeable. But in case it results in any
problems, I’ll just give a heads-up, and if worst comes to worst I’ll
just extend the merge window to give myself more time for merging. I
aim to avoid it, but I’ll note it here just in case it happens.

Steven Rothwell already noted during the -rc7 release that people
should have the stuff for 3.7 in linux-next, and I hope that is true.
Guys and gals, please behave, ok?

Leave a Reply

